Hiking at Vickery Creek

I’ve come to really appreciate the Chattahoochee River National Recreation Areas. Its a system of hiking trails along the Chattahoochee River.  Most of the parks are just 30 minutes away from Atlanta, which makes them ideal spots for getting outdoors when I only have a few hours instead of a full day.

About a month ago, I had the afternoon free, so Gauss and I headed to Vickery Creek, one of the aforementioned recreation areas. It was my first time visiting this particular park. Just like the other sections,  Vickery Creek has multiple intersection trails creating a web over the land, as opposed to any set route or loops. Thankfully, at each intersection is a map with the intersection number labeled on the post.

I have no idea how far Gauss and I hiked since there is not a set route. We went this way and that way, seeing all there was to see. I know that sometimes I fall into the trap of thinking that if I’m not going somewhere far away that the hike will be some what boring. To be fair, this hike was certainly not strenous. It was mostly flat and not technical. However, it was NOT boring. There were serveral interesting features to see along the way. Check out the video below to see some of them!

3 thoughts on “Hiking at Vickery Creek

  1. Pingback: Tsali Trip 2016! – Simple Adventures Open Eyes

Leave a Reply

