My blog is two years old!

2015-12-26 11.43.29
Me and Nancy. My friend who’s name often pops up on the blog and is in part responsible for its existence. Nancy’s blog inspired me to start my own.

A little over two years ago, I started this wee little blog. At the time I stated that I wanted to practice writing because writing had always seemed difficult to me in school and in order to finish my doctorate, I need to write my thesis. A daunting task for sure. However, what I’ve learned is that, unlike in school, writing is not so hard when I actually have something to say.

My trouble in school was that I’d have to write on topics on which I had no thoughts. When said topic was mentioned, there were no thoughts in my brain, not even cobwebs for that would be something. No, there was only a vacuum, the absence of anything. Thus, it was very hard to write because I had quite literally nothing to say.

Thankfully, this is no longer the case. I write about my adventures here on my blog. Typically, I have plenty to say about those. In graduate school, writing is also vastly easier. When writing my recent research article, I was pleasantly surprised that academic writing was not so difficult. I actually had things to say because I did the experiments, I understand the technique I used, I can explain what the result mean. Writing is so much easier when I am not trying to force myself to make things up! That’s not to say that writing well is not a challenge. I think that writing well does take significant effort, but no longer do I stare at blank pages wondering what to write. And that is a wonderful thing.

Over past two years, I have enjoyed writing about my adventures for a couple of reasons. I like to reminisce while I’m writing as well as going back to look at past adventures. Pictures in general are great, but I also enjoy re-reading the write up to put me back in the moment and to remember details I would have forgotten otherwise. The other reason, is I like to share my adventures with others. I love reading outdoor adventure blogs, I know some of my friends and family also enjoy reading about what I’ve been up to.

So in celebration of my blog’s two year anniversary, here are my top 5 favorite blog posts listed in chronological order. I have many favorites for just as many reasons, so narrowing it down to five was difficult!

California Trip Day Two  We packed so many things into one day, it’s crazy. Nothing went as planned, but that’s okay. Sometimes that is all part of the adventure!

2014-12-25 16.02.37
One of my favorite pictures ever. 

 

Impromptu Rocktown Trip Another example where things didn’t quite go as planned, but turned out wonderful anyway. Also, if you look closely at the end of the video, I totally whack a tree throwing my arms in the air. I tell my parents I use up all my careful in lab trying to not be clumsy. There is nothing left over for the rest of my life.

2015-11-27 15.23.43
Gauss is not amused. Tyler practices a traverse route.

 

Apple Houses, Hiking, and Reminiscing A hike in the rain with friends. A blog post in which there are no photos, but I think my artistic talent makes up for it. Don’t you agree?

SightsOnTheTrail
Large tree, large snail, normal sized dogs. Drawing not to scale.

 

Hot Chocolate 5k: A Race Recapitulation I was cold, oh so cold, but somehow managed to have a good time anyways. This post was particularly fun to write, and I managed to make some of my labmates (literally) laugh out loud while reading.

2016-01-24 09.49.23

 

Tsali Trip 2016! Dad and I went on our annual mountain biking/camping trip to Tsali. This time we were joined by the Zombie Camels Mountain Bike Club. I love mountain biking with my dad and look forward to this trip every year.

2016-06-03 16.36.20

 

What do you think? Which posts are your favorite? I’d love to hear from you in the comments or on Facebook! 

Leave a Reply

